Noor's life on the path to Jannah

Have I finally found something that works?

In Uncategorized on May 28, 2009 at 11:25 pm

Salaams everyone,

The word for today is “tired.” Why? Well, I’ve spent most of my day looking at blogs, reading blogs, and trying to find blogs. You can say that I’m pretty “blogged out” right now, that’s for sure. One of the many blessings that Allah SWT has given me is that I am able to work out of my home, and in between phone calls I’ve been blog surfing.

Wow…you are certainly a diverse lot, from the daring and irreverent to the extremely pious. I’ve learned a lot from you sisters today.  Allah SWT has made us with different hopes, dreams, families, and backgrounds, but we are all united for love of Him. I’m going to keep looking for you, and commenting on your posts when I read something that really resonates with me. So…watch out! 🙂

What am I up to right now? Well, the house has another distincly Asian aroma, this time coming from a broccoli and bell pepper stir fry with tofu. I must say that my Pakistani husband had no clue what tofu was until I brought some home, and if you ask me, I don’t think he’s really crazy about it, but he eats it to make me happy. My husband flatters me way too much when it comes to my cooking, but hey, it’s a blessing and a privilege to be able to cook for such a wonderful husband as he is.

If I’m serious about blogging then at some point I need to bring up my eating disorder in greater detail. I have been diagnosed with binge eating disorder and it’s something I’ve struggled with my entire life–one of the consequences being that I’m a lot heavier than I should be. I have gone back and forth on this issue with Allah SWT and have felt a lot of anger and frustration at Him (astaghfirallah) for what I go through. To explain my motives as best as I can, there are just times that the only thing that will take my pain, anger, boredom, sadness, lonliness (fill in the blank) is to eat. The weight has piled on and that has only caused me to feel worse about myself.

I’m actually going to try hypnosis as a way to calm myself down and relax more, and hopefully that will help me to cope with the overeating. I was worried that it was haram as a form of witchcraft or something, but I found an online fatwa that said it wasn’t. I bought a CD from eBay that I can play over and over again, and I was told that I need to allow at least 28 days to change my approach to food and eating. So may Allah SWT put his barkat in this little experiment and I will keep you posted! 🙂

Love and light to everyone.

  1. Salaam sis,

    Have you looked in to Paul McKenna’s approach (or the logical approach really!) If not, do! Like I said, it’s pretty much common sense, in line with the way we as Muslims should eat and it’s effective. May Allah give you success in your endeavours!

Leave a Reply

