Noor's life on the path to Jannah

Hijabi humility, hijabi pride

In Uncategorized on May 31, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Salaams everyone,

Well it’s 6:15 PM, a mushroom-and-pepper pizza is bubbling away in the oven, and I am in a happy mood, considering that it’s a Sunday and that my precious one-on-one time with my wonderful husband is drawing to a close.

We took a drive this afternoon to our local “Subzi Mandi” (Indo-Pak grocery) where I always feel like the proverbial kid in the candy store–so many Desi delights under one roof! I stocked up on my faves: yogurt, coconut milk, dried fruit, chickpeas, naan bread, and other treats. On the way we home we stopped to fill up the car with gas and a young man gave us salaams. Since he was new in town, he wasn’t sure where the nearest masjid was and my hubby was happy to point him in the right direction. As we pulled away, I said to him, “May Allah SWT bless you for that good deed you just did.” My husband replied, “And Allah SWT will bless YOU in turn, because if you had not been wearing your hijab, that brother would have never known that I was a Muslim.”

I felt so proud yet incredibly humbled. We all know the power of giving and receiving salaams, and knowing that I played a minor role in that little exchange made me so happy.

Hijab: do we REALLY know the extent of the blessings we are showered with?

Much love to everyone,

Noor

  1. Alaikum as Salaam dear sister,
    Thank you for your sweet reply. 🙂
    I love Hijab. We don’t know the extent of Allah’s blessings from it– as He says; “if you try to count His blessings, you won’t be able to reach an end.”
    May Allah guide us and give us His blessings.

  2. Assalam sister
    so nice to find ur blog..
    and Alhamdulillah it was a beautiful post…:)
    so true.. hijab is the symbol of a muslimah… a banner we hold high and proud,,
    All Praise be to Allah 🙂
    InshaAllah im goin to start a section in my blog called “Bloggers Quoted”… am goin to add this post there…
    with a link to ur blog…
    love you

    Jazakalla Khair

  3. Assalamu alaikum wr wb

    I’ve been wearing hijab for 16 years now out of my own free will and mind. Despite there has been many pressures over the years on and off to take it off, it’s only made me stronger to keep it on.
    Weird thing is I do get many comments from people asking me if I’m a Muslim or not. I say, yes I’m a Muslim. I guess the hijab doesn’t really speak out for itself sometimes as people just want to get that confirmation that you are what you wear. 🙂

    take care

  4. Assalamu alaikom,
    It’s happened a few times that my husband and I have had interactions with fellow Muslims that allll started with the other person noticing my hijab. We even got help with a broken down car once due to it. LOL And you’re making me hungry with all the food talk. *drool*

Leave a Reply

